Customer reviews for Sentinel Sentinel Flavor Tabs

Sentinel Sentinel Flavor Tabs

Sentinel is an oral tablet for the prevention and control of flea populations, the prevention of heartworm disease and the treatment and control of roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms in dogs.Active ingredients are Milbemycin oxime, a heartworm and parasite preventative, and Lufenuron, an insect growth regulator. Female fleas feeding on treated animals will produce eggs that cannot hatch. The interruption of the flea life cycle results in effective long term flea control on the pet as well as in the environment. Generally, Sentinel is well tolerated by dogs of all ages and breeds, including Collie breeds and other herding animals. Sentinel should be given with a meal. Consult your veterinarian for a recommendation on heartworm and flea prevention for your pet.
Overall rating:
4.726 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 113 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
46 out of 49(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Review 1 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs love it

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCalifornai
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dogs love it so it easy to give them their "treats" for heartworm & other parasite prevention.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDallas, TX, USA
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Yorkshire Terrier
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sentinel is easy to use. My dog eats quite readily. I use it because it controls both worms and fleas. The price is reasonable compared to other combined worm and flea products. It does not kill fleas, it only prevents the eggs from hatching. I use another product to kill the fleas.
Pros:controls both worms and fleas
Cons:does not kill fleas
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heartworm preventative is an expensive part of pet ownership. I shopped around and got the best price from petcarerx.
Pros:best price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAnderson, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this for years and then my vet changed the dogs to Trifexis. My dogs hated it! They spit it out 2 and 3 times, and I mean from way down their throats!! There has never been an issue with the Sentinel, they will even eat it out of my hand if I forget to put it in their bowl with the food. It has been effective for heartworm and fleas for all of our dogs.
Pros:dogs like the taste
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Canton
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Gender:Female
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My vet prescribed this for my dogs a couple of years ago. Since I have been buying these from petcarerx, my savings have been substantial over what the vet charged.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more 2 meds every month

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromsmall town Michigan
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Dachshund
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finally I can give my 2 small dogs 1 pill a month that covers heart worms and the fleas etc. Trying to find the spot between their shoulder blades for the fleas etc. meds has been awful. They're happy campers and so is Mom :-) Thanks a lot!
Cons:i have 2 smalll dogs could only give 1 details
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not a flea/tick preventative!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromClarksville, TN
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Australian Shepherd
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Geez people do some reading. Sentinel doesn't prevent flea or tick infestations. It interrupts the flea life cycle by preventing the development of flea eggs. Adult fleas and ticks will still get on your dog. Sentinel is primarily a heartworm, hookworm, roundworm, and whipworm preventative. It is also the safest heartworm med for the herding breeds that may have MDR1 gene mutation issues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad they are available again

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMentor, OH, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, large
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used Sentinel from the start when I got my Shep-Colli-Lab mix 8 yrs ago and had no problems at all. Then they put the hold on the manufacturer for another product and I was forced to switch to another product which was way more costly and did not keep the fleas at bay. I had to first take care of the flea problem that then developed in my house (another expense) and then switch to another product. I was thrilled to see they started selling it again. Great value, easy to use and it works!Radio
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good heartworm medicine

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Australian Shepherd
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was not available for some reason. I used Trifexas in the meantime - it is wonderful that it is back since it quite a bit cheaper and the dogs take it well - in fact my collie takes it better (the Sentinel).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very effective

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromsalem,or
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Poodle
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very effective, less money than other brands, dog tolerates the medication well, dog heartworm test negative. difficult to find a heartworm chewable for dogs under ten lbs. This med works for both of our dogs.
Pros:good value for the money
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like that it takes care of more than one issue at a time!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromJacksonville, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Pomeranian
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only given her the 1st dose, we live in Florida, the flea part of has not worked well yet, hopefully the 2nd dose works better. It would not be fair to say it does not work, not yet!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like once a month dosing and that it covers two areas in one pill.

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBenton, AR, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, small
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our vet introduced us to this product and we like how it attacks two things in one pill and you give it once a month. One less medicine to keep up with.
Pros:flavored tablets.
Cons:more expensive.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need crushed pill method!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFolsom, CA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Chihuahua
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My little Chihuahua will not eat Heartguard even chopped to teeny pieces & mixed with chicken! I guess she smells it.
So the only way to get her heart worm medicine is with Sentinel. I crush the tablet into granuales & add it to her dinner.
For some reason my vet doesn't stock it any longer so I have to now buy it online, no problem, arrived within a week.
Pros:my baby will get her medicine., easy to use.
Cons:none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentinel Heartworm Preventtive

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBlanco, TX 78606, USA
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Golden Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this heartworm preventative for a long time. I have never had a dog with heartworms and felt okay with not testing regularly - it didn't seem necessary- my dogs always are in peak condition.
Pros:no heartworms, dogs love them, flavored and chewable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dogs like it !

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Maltese
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gives great protection from fleas....ticks.....heartworms...and several other pests. Dogs like the taste and you can give it as a treat or put it in their food . It is a little pricey....but less than some of the combined meds. Buying them separate is more expensive.
Pros:effective
Cons:pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommend for all dog owners!

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromnew orleans
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have two dogs who play at public parks, the levee and swim in the Mississippi river. Sentinel is excellent for preventing heart worm and controlling or eliminating any problems with fleas. I couldn't be happier with this product.
Pros:it works!
Cons:wish it came in chewable form.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vet recommended Med

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGastonia, NC, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use and my dog takes it readily. You only give it once a month. This is what my vet wants us to use.
Pros:dog seems to love it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just as expected

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNY
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:English Springer Spaniel
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is simple and gets job done. I am glad that it came back. Thank you
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hands down best product.

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte, NC, USA
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Shih Tzu
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Puppy/Kitten
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used sentinel for years and now using pet care rx I have the convenience of home delivery at a great price.
Pros:kills and prevents fleas, protects against heart worms, chewable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sentinel Flavor Tabs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentinel

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromN. GA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Papillon
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first - the dog that I am babysitting spit out the tablet, then I placed it more deeply into a piece of chicken, and viola'. The scratching and biting stopped the next afternoon.
Thank you Sentinel.
Pros:quick acting
Cons:not so delicious that dog will eat quick
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>