Customer reviews for Sentinel Sentinel for Dogs

Sentinel Sentinel for Dogs

Sentinel for dogs is an oral tablet for the prevention and control of flea populations, the prevention of heartworm disease and the treatment and control of roundworms, hookworms, and whipworms in dogs.The active ingredients in Sentinel for dogs are Milbemycin oxime, a heartworm and parasite preventative, and Lufenuron, an insect growth regulator. Female fleas feeding on treated animals will produce eggs that cannot hatch. The interruption of the flea life cycle results in effective long term flea control on the pet as well as in the environment. Generally, Sentinel is well tolerated by dogs of all ages and breeds, including Collie breeds and other herding animals. Sentinel for dogs should be given with a meal. Consult your veterinarian for a recommendation on heartworm and flea prevention for your pet.
Overall rating:
4.709 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
70 out of 75(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Sentinel for Dogs
Review 1 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Customer avatar
fromVan Nuys, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Pit Bull
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always liked this product. It works well and is easy to use. And the dog likes it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Border Collie
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product for many years and have always been happy with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great effective product

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Golden Retriever
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to dispense to your pet. Double flea and tick protection when given with food, when also using a flea and tick med. highly recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for our dog

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Customer avatar
fromArlington, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Chow Chow
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
So glad to have Sentinel back on the market. It has been a long time waiting. Our oldest dog who is 10 was on it since his birth. All of our past dogs and present it seems this is the only easy pill to give and works wonders with no problems. No side affects and no worries. We started using this pill back while we lived in NJ and now in Texas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked for my allergic to bug bite dog

PostedJune 10, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPalm Beach, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Yorkshire Terrier
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this pill works. It significantly helped my yorkie not get bitten from all the bugs in Florida, where we live. He never scratches air bites his skin anymore. Changed our lives.
Highly recommended.
Cons:price could be less expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
fromPennsylvania, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Scottish Terrier
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have 4 scotties-the sentinel is well tolerated! No side effects---which we had with another well known comparable product
Pros:effective and no side effects
Cons:wish it had more flavor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product!

PostedMay 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromValrico, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Cocker Spaniel
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Sentinel on every dog I have owned and never have had a flea or heartworm problem. I have used this product for over 10 years and absolutely love it!!! One pill a month and you are done!
Pros:so easy to use!
Cons:none!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Same product for less

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Dachshund
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like that you can purchase the same medication from Pet Care Rx that you can get from your vey but at a cheaper price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the product!

PostedApril 9, 2015
Customer avatar
fromNc
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Collie
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all I have to say to those giving a low rating because you can't get your dog to eat it put it in some food. We are rating the effectiveness not how well you can handle your dog! This stuff is great I saved so much money on buying flea prevention separately. My white dog always had an ugly grease mark from the topical and she likes to swim so it never worked for long now just an easy pill that anyone with a brain can administer and we are good to go!
Pros:easy! effective!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMaui, Hawaii, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Bull Terrier
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
product not received from pet rx, the product works great for the past year
Pros:works great
Cons:pet rx delivery
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentinel one per month and no worries

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
fromIrving, TX, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Pit Bull
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have been using Sentinel for my two dogs for six years now. There is a huge problem with Heartworm in Texas and although my dogs mostly stay inside, there is no skimping on the protection that I give them. They are my babies and thus, Sentinel is given to protect them from Heartworm, fleas, and other parasites. I give one to each once a month on the same day and I do not need to worry for the remainder of the month about whether or not they are safe.
Pros:easy to use, effective, cost effective
Cons:need to remember the best place to buy. lol
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sental

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromlapeer
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Bichon Frise
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good for my dog service is always great mailing is good I have no complaints at all
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this site.

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Dachshund
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to pay $150 mo for my pets flea and heartworm. Until i found petcarerx. Now i pay less than half that. Shipping takes a little bit so i recommend ordering early to keep in the cycle. Other than that, I'll never buy their meds anywhere else.
Pros:great prices
Cons:slow but on time delivery
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLos Angeles, CA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mastiff
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to administer and keeps my dogs flea free for a month at a time. works on my big 'outside' dogs and my little buddies. We live near the beach and fleas are a nightmare with the warm humidity and sand. playing in the water makes the topical flea control useless.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

came on time and good price

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product, good price, delivery was on time, thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this product. It's easy to use and very convenient.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sentinel tabs

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEuless, TX, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Chihuahua
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well, my dog has been given these all his life and the vet couldn't get them anymore, I don't remember why.
I just place the tablet in a spoon of peanut butter, easy dosing because there is nothing my dog likes better than peanut butter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMorton Grove, IL
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Shetland Sheepdog
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have used Sentinal for several dogs over several years, and we've always been pleased with it. The current dog takes it buried in peanut butter and gobbles it down.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super easy

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLongwood, FL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, large
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One pill. Once a month. It's that easy. No liquids. No mess.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sentinel for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLouisiana
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Boston Terrier
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I choose to use this product for my dogs, because it doesn't make them sick or itch. The last heart worm medicine I used would make them sick and scratch like crazy. This one does not do that.
Pros:have had no side effects, happy with the outcome
Cons:i have to hide it in food
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>