Customer reviews for Summit Vetpharm Vectra 3D

Summit Vetpharm Vectra 3D

Vectra 3D is a monthly topical, prescription medication, designed to repel and kill fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes on contact. Vectra 3D works within 6 hours, decreasing the risk of vector-borne diseases. Vectra 3D is waterproof and for dogs and pups 7 weeks and older. The easy patended application makes it easy to apply. Vectra 3D kills fleas and ticks, while preventing mosquitoes from biting, reducing the risk of heartworm and certain parasites. Vectra 3D needs verification from your veterinarian. Vectra 3D is for dogs and pups 7 weeks and older, who suffer from fleas, ticks, and mosquitoes.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
1 out of 2(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Vectra 3D
Review 1 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromca
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Rottweiler
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product was recommended by my vet to protect my dog from flies. I didn't believe it was going to work since a lot of products don't protect against flies. However this product was amazing and it actually worked. His ears healed within a week and I haven't had a problem since.
Pros:long lasting
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never tried it and never will again. Pretty much useless...

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always used Frontline on my cat and on my dogs but because my boyfriends dog needed all his shots and license, etc... I thought I'd try something new because it was cheaper, plus it was buy 3 get 1 free as well. I walk the yellow lab 3 times a day and the deepest woods he see's is the leaves and grass along the shore line of Bald Eagle Lake an inner city lake in White Bear Minnesota. I have pulled 3 feeding ticks off of him in the last few days. I didn't realize how fantastic Frontline was until I used this in superior product. Tomorrow I will be returning the 3 unused viles' and gladly purchasing Frontline. Poor dog, having to deal with the risks these bites may cause him.
Pros:easy to use
Cons:worthless
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
fromMidwest USA
My vet gave me the hard sell on this one. I've used as directed for three months. Today, I picked up the dog from the spot where I'd boarded him and he has fleas. For the money I paid for this product, this is unacceptable. Back to Frontline for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love Product, but leaves residue on coat.

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer avatar
fromLoxahatchee, FL
This product works 110%. It truly works great in equestrian areas where parasites are concentrated. The only thing I dislike is the product leaves a greasy residue on the coat. This is due to a large amount put on a small breed dog's skin. I tend to apply only half and come back a few days later and apply the other half to prevent a mess. I suppose if you have a larger breed dog you should be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT!

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Customer avatar
fromMystic, CT
I have a lab/ pit mix who's been on Vectra for about 2 years now, we LOVE it! We changed from Frontline bc it just wasn't working anymore. We moved into a house that had fleas and they just wouldn't go away so we switched to Vectra and they were gone almost immediately! We have a BIG tick problem here and I have only found 1 tick on her since she's been on this and that was when I had forgotten to give it to her for 2 months. We have 2 cats and we have not had a problem. I just keep her outside or in a seperate room when I first apply it. It's only harmful to cats if the ingest it while it's wet, so it's pretty easy to keep that from happening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't recommend

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
fromRichmond
My vet switched to vectra 3d this year. My biggest issue with this product is there is alot of liquid and I do not like the consistently of the product....too watery and messy for me. No thanks.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
fromMichigan
I have 3 cats and one dog that loves water and playing in the woods along with fielded areas in michigan. I have tryed tons of diffrent flea treatments with no success inclueding frontline and advantix 2. this year is the first year I have tryed vector and this is also the first year we have had no fleas!!! I love this product and would recommend this to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jo

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer avatar
fromMississippi
Two labs treated with Vectra-house/yard/bedding etc. treated and even had dog dipped prior to Vectra. Still have fleas!!! I would love some help-tried to call but not open on weekends! Not due for another treatment until 21st of July. I look forward to talking to someone about Vectra and giving it a better recommendation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymissflea
 
Please wait while more information about missflea is loaded.
Additional information about missflea could not be loaded.
onJuly 2, 2014
Because of the flea life cycle, there is NO product that will get rid of everything with 1 treatment. It takes on average 3 treatments to break it. You also need to make sure ALL of your animals are treated. If you have an indoor pet please make sure to treat them too. Likewise, all outdoor animals need to be treated as well. Fleas are no fun and if you are currently treating your pets, house and yard keep it up!!! I wish you success in getting rid of your "friends". Vectra is a really cool product in that there is NO flea resistance. Ive used it for years now and in my industry we work with veterinarians everyday and for the last 8 years the feedback has been great.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing for my Pits!I

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Customer avatar
fromHampton, VA
I have 4 pitbulls who are prone to allergies to everything just about. My oldest one would always chew the hair off of her tail. When we started using Vectra she stopped and never since have we had the problem. Have not seen one tick or flea on any of my dogs. I tried frontline and advantix but this is all I will swear by now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST SPOT-ON EVER!!

PostedJune 2, 2011
Customer avatar
fromNJ
I was told by my vet that Advantix was the best spot-on available. I faithfully applied the product every thirty days as directed. My dog was aggravated by fleas and I was removing at least three embedded ticks per day. I then tried Bio-Spot which got rid of the flea and tick problem but my dog has a reaction to that where he developed sores and suffered hair loss. My vet then recommended Vectra-3D and we have been flea and tick free for over one year with no allergic reactions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love This Product.

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer avatar
fromChattanooga, TN
I have a water-loving 7 year-old dog that is in the deep woods multiple times a week. No other product compares to Vectra3D when it comes to keeping the bugs away. Over the years we have used both K9 Advantix & Frontline Plus. When we tried Promeris he had a very scary reaction. In a full year with Vectra3D I have only found a single very dead tick on my dog. There have been no fleas. And, on top of that, I haven't had to re-apply the Vectra as often. During the height of flea & tick season he has needed it every 6 weeks, as opposed to the need for re-application at 3 weeks with the other products we have tried.I hate that some dogs have had reactions to this drug, but after experiencing a terrible reaction with a flea and tick control product, I am relieved to have found no problems with Vectra 3D in our case. I love this stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop wasting money on Frontline!!

PostedMay 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fromPGH, PA
I have 3 cats and 2 dogs and Frontline Plus has completely stopped working on the Fleas AND ticks in our area, if not everwhere. I am in Western PA. We wasted hundreds of dollars last year with frontline, who was denying there is anything amiss with the very common problem. We were recommended Vectra by the one Vet who knew about it and carried it last year, Being a pet parent rather than just owner we had always used frontline because it seemed to be the safest as well as most effective. Vectra is better in every way and we have been very pleased with the results and lack of reaction from any of our animals when using it. It is even safe enough to use more than once a month although I am not sure why because unlike other products we did not notice any fleas in the last days of the cycle, knowing us we have even applied late! Quite frankly Vectra has saved my summer this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great !

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
fromNH
I have heard a lot of dogs have sensitivity issues with Vectra, but this was never the case with my two dogs. Vectra worked much better than Frontline and since I've been using it I've never found a tick on my dogs - I can't say the same with Frontline and K9 Advantix. No sensitivity issues with my dogs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

PostedMay 3, 2011
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
My dog is an 8 year old Shih Tzu that is highly allergic to fleas. We had tried several different medications and nothing seemed to work, we were still finding fleas on him. My vet recommended Vectra and we have not found one flea on him since using this product. Unlike other medication this product only takes 2hrs to kill fleas. I highly recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've got 3, tick and flea free!

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer avatar
After using other tick and flea controls for years and having to put pesticides on my lawn yearly, I was tired of seeing fleas on my pets. My Vet recommended, over 1 year ago, that I try Vectra. Since then, no more fleas, no more ticks, no more pesticides. I was worried about the chemicals in my yard for environmental reasons. And the long term effect on my babies. If I have fleas and ticks in my yard now I don't even know it. Because they never make it into my house or on my pets long enough to notice! This product gets 10 stars from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fromDenver,CO
We have a German Shorthair Pointer who travels with us regularily. The great thing about this product is your dog has no issues with fleas, ticks, mosquitoes, or sand fleas. Some of the other products do want your dog to be in water for a week after the application....have you ever tried keeping a sporting dog out of the water? We are consistent in applying this on the same date every month so it is nice not to have to try and plan our activities around the dog's application.There is nothing better than having a happy healthy dog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked better than frontline plus for my animals

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer avatar
fromPA
I was using frontline plus for both our lab and cat. We found multiple ticks on our lab, both crawling and embedded. Our indoor cat developed a problem with fleas, despite consistent application and efforts to bomb and clean our home. Our vet told us that through word of mouth they had consistent complaints about the effectiveness of frontline for fleas (perhaps related to all the rescues that came north due to hurricane Katrina) and suggested trying vectra 3-d for our dog and cat (there is an additional version for cats, but does not provide protection from ticks.) It worked immediately! The frontline plus had also begun to make our cat's fur fall out excessively after application, which there have been no problems with the vectra.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vectra 3D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Customer avatar
fromPA
I was an avid fan of Frontline Plus for dogs......until late last fall when I found a tick on my german shepherd while he was on Frontline Plus.....not once, but twice in about a 3 or 4 week period. My vet told me about Vectra 3D, and I tried it for both my german shepherd and my siberian husky. They've been on it for about 9 months now, and I haven't had found any fleas OR ticks. I highly recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.