Customer reviews for Trifexis

Trifexis

Dogs are under constant threat of invasion by fleas, worms, and other parasitic creatures. Help protect your pooch with Trifexis. Trifexis protects against heartworm, hookworm, roundworm, whipworm, and fleas, and comes as a beef-flavored tablet, so your dog wont even know that theyre taking medicine! Trifexis kills fleas 30 minutes after being taken, leaving fleas no time to lay eggs, and keeps working for 30 days!An effective and affordable alternative to Trifexis is Sentinel
Overall rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
72 out of 79(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Trifexis
Review 1 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trifexis makes my dog nausaus for a couple of days after she takes it. PLEASE, do not deliver her meds in a hard box anymore because I could not get

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, small
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the box out of the US Postal Service receptical and had to wait 3 days to get it.....not good in this heat. PLEASE do not deliver it again in a hard box.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, fair price, but slow.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAiken, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I ordered a medication and immediately mailed in the vet's prescription. Waited about 2 weeks to receive the meds. The price (especially with the PetPlus discount) was worth the wait. All in all, with advance planning, PetCare Rx is preferable to the steep mark-up my vet would have charged. I appreciated the notifications via e-mail and phone on the progress of my order.
Pros:price, quality
Cons:slow
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best price

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHalf Moon Bay, CA, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:American Staffordshire Terrier
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trifexis is easy to administer and the results are unbeatable.
Pros:price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pros and Cons

PostedJune 13, 2015
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Maltipoo
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We switched from Frontline about 1/2 a year ago. For some reason we were still occasionally dealing with a flea problem. My dog is allergic to fleas...one flea and she is a mass of scratching and fur loss and ends up looking like a lion! Our vet recommended Trifexys. I love that fleas and heartworm etc can be taken care of with one application BUT my dog does not like this pill and we go through trauma each month getting it down her throat. She is a master of holding on to it! But we manage in the end and I will continue to purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We've tried all the other flea medications and trifexis is the only one that works for our dogs. Our male lab will eat anything and he has no problem taking it with a little peanut butter. Our female however will not take it, we have to put it in her throat and hold her mouth shut until she swallows it. She also throws up if we give it with food, on an empty stomach it is fine.
Pros:works great
Cons:can make some dogs sick, expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product for Fleas & Heartwork Prevention

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:German Shepherd
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product was the lifesaver for our GSD. We tried other products, but this one did the trick! Easy to use, no mess and also prevents heartworm. Great product!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trifexis

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPalm Springs, CA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Maltese
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have an 8 pound, 9 year old dog and she has been taking this medication for a few years without any problems.
I find it less messy than the liquid kind of flea protection
I just put it in her food at nigt and she eats it, no problem!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy to administer.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColumbia, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Maltese
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dogs think it's a treat. No oily residue or smell like the topical applications.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very efficient product

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Alaskan Malamute
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've used several different flea and heartworm products over the years and I find that Trifexis really does the job. It is not cheap and my dogs don't like it ( I have to shove it in their mouth which is no fun).
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and service

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLutz, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Cocker Spaniel
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unfortunately Banfield will not allow us to send our prescription from them to PetcareRX to get the better pricing on Trifexis :( We may have to find another vet.
Pros:discounts for 2 dogs!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricey

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Pit Bull
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
This is a pricey drug but effective my dog still itches but its not from fleas guess it's an allergy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flea Killer and Heart Guard

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlbany, OR, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Miniature Schnauzer
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using this product for over 3 years for both of my dogs. Prior to this I was using just the flea killer but my veterinarian suggested I use the Trifexis, as it includes heart worm protection. It is a little bit more expensive but well worth for the health of my dogs .
Pros:easy to administer, it works!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trifexis works

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, small
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our dog has been on Tifexis for 3 years now and we haven't noticed any problems. She doesn't like the taste so I do have to camouflage it with peanut butter. Since she has been on Trifexis we haven't noticed any fleas. So I guess the product is doing what it should be doing.
Pros:is a small tablet and only use once a month
Cons:need to use peanut butter to get her to take it
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMiami, FL, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Shih Tzu
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product, so far, is the most effective method we have found to keep our pet flea-free, while protecting him from heartworm and other parasites at the same time. He tolerates the tablets well (although we have to hide the tablet in a larger chunk of food, such as a piece of cooked chicken, since he won't eat the tablet on its own) and has never had any negative side effects (such as vomiting or lethargy). We have been using this product for several years and our shih tzu will be 7 years old soon and is healthy and happy.
Pros:effective flea control, protection against heartworm
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, small
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tastes and smells terrible! Very large pill! I have to grind it up and mix with peanut butter to get my dog to swallow it.
Works great though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the product

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My dog does not like the taste, I have to put it down his throat but he is good about it.
The only thing I don't like about it is it does not work on fleas so I still need the prevent tick collar
Pros:no muss no fuss
Cons:does not cover fleas
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytruescorpio1118
 
Please wait while more information about truescorpio1118 is loaded.
Additional information about truescorpio1118 could not be loaded.
onSeptember 10, 2014
I agree it smells terrible and I usually chop it up and put it in egg salad. It's been the only way I get my two Pekingese to take it. However, it is a flea, tick and heartworm med and you should not be using a flea collar in addition. I live in Florida also and it works great. Please call your vet as you may be exposing your puppy to more med than necessary.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColumbia, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Carolina Dog
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been using this on my Fur Babies for 3 years and would not us anything else!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product, but expensive for me

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Miniature Schnauzer
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have noticed that after giving to my kids a couple of months, they were no longer scratching from fleas and neither was I! And while I do recommend this product, it is still rather expensive for someone on a fixed income and when you have 3 little dogs to keep well, it's not an easy task. It is a good product though.
Pros:no fleas, keeps my pups well, less vet bills
Cons:very expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing!

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Weimaraner
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband I tried several different flea medications, we washed the dog's bedding weekly as well as bathing them weekly. Nothing was helping. We started them on Trifexis and noticed almost a 100% difference withing the first month. After month 2, the fleas were completely gone and my dogs were relieved. Great product and worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expensive, ineffective for us, worthless guarantee

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAL
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have been giving our 11 month old mix Trifexis at the recommendation of our vet since we have had him (6 months). The treatment is certainly not the cheapest, so we expected it to work. Two weeks after his latest dose, he was seeming lethargic and we needed a new box of Trifexis, so we decided to take him in for the regular check-up he was slightly overdue for. At the check-up, his fecal came back positive for hookworms; thinking that surely Elanco's satisfaction guarantee would cover treatment, we gave him a prescription of Drontal ($$). Now, after both myself and my vet have talked to the Elanco rep, we have been told that Elanco will not honor any guarantee since the infection was discovered as part of a regular check-up. I understand that the worm has a short cycle and it is possible that he could test positive that soon after a dose, but based on his possible exposure I find it unlikely (clean yard) and the reaction of Elanco has left me extremely displeased. We will not continue treating with Trifexis and cannot recommend the treatment to others.
Pros:easy to administer
Cons:expecsive, ineffective, guarantee worthless
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>