Customer reviews for Trifexis

Trifexis

Dogs are under constant threat of invasion by fleas, worms, and other parasitic creatures. Help protect your pooch with Trifexis. Protecting against heartworm, hookworm, roundworm, whipworm, and fleas, Trifexis comes as a beef-flavored tablet, so your dog wont even know that theyre taking medicine! Killing fleas within 30 minutes after being taken, Trifexis leaves fleas no time to lay eggs, nipping that situation in the bud. Trifexis offers a full 30 days of its wide spectrum protection. An effective and affordable alternative to Trifexis is Sentinel
Overall rating:
4.203 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
43 out of 49(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Trifexis
Review 1 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromClemson, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We never had a problem with fleas until we moved south. When our dog got some fleas our vet recommended this product and within one dose we noticed a difference. It is not effective on ticks, so when we are in an area where ticks are an issue we add a tick preventative product.
This is an effective, easy to use product and no side effects for our dog.
Pros:easy to use
Cons:not effective on ticks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Pill!!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEugene, OR, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Akita
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is so much easier to have one pill take care of everything! Fleas, worms, ticks and heartworms...yes!
Pros:1 dose - 3 meds
Cons:large pill
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome to have it all in one pill.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSaint Petersburg, FL
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:American Staffordshire Terrier
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So nice to just give my dogs one pill for the month and have it cover everything.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

all in all, it does what it's suppose to.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromhome, Belmont, NC
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Pembroke Welsh Corgi
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a hard time getting my dog to take it. I have even coated it in peanut butter. He licks it off and then spits it out. It really smells bad so I don't blame him.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trifexis works great

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromJacksonville, FL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have three girl dogs: a 16year old shepherd mix, a 5 year old beagle mix, and a 5 year old schnauzer mix. We have lived in numerous places around the world and successfully used Heartgard and K9 Advantix II. Until we got to Florida and this past summer the fleas were relentless and nothing topical worked. The dogs were miserable and so were we. Until we tried Trifexis. Within 30 minutes the fleas were gone and they have not returned. The dogs had no adverse reactions and they tolerate it well. The only complaint is that it is ridiculously expensive.
Pros:works perfectly, no adverse reactions
Cons:way too expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use. Dog takes without a problem

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:English Springer Spaniel
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have seen no fleas since my dog has been taking this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to give to your dog.

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBirmingham, AL, USA
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dog takes this pill very easily and it does a good job.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Product keeps dogs healthy

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHollywwod, FL USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have used this with my two labs for over two years. It is very effective but the dogs hate the taste. I have tried putting it in meat, pill pocket treats, peanut butter, chicken stock, sardines and cheese, things they normally love. Every month I have to hold their mouths open and force them to take the pill. They are on other vitamins which they take willingly and without fuss but Trifexis NO.
Pros:effectve
Cons:bad taste
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Most successful product we have tried in this category.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Flat-Coated Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Very good, easy, and expensive. Most successful product we have tried in this category.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like the convenience of Trifexis

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFL
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Newfoundland
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product to combat multiple problems that happen
to pets. Use to use Comfortis (made with same drug to
combat fleas) but now this is combined to help
with heartworms!
Product is expensive, but my 3 big dogs are worth every
penny!
Thanks!
Pros:good value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Needed for protection and better price than at the Vet office

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Rat Terrier
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As far as I can tell triflexis works for my two dogs but as far as any far reaching side effects , it is difficult to know....One dog requires me to crush the pill otherwise I cannot get her to take it even with food etc....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so hot, but it works

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMaiden, NC
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Beagle
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you can get your dog to eat this, good for you! It smells like pesticide, not beef! and the tablet for my 25 lb dog is huge. You can't hide the smell so the dog won't eat the stinking thing which means you have to shove it down his throat!
Pros:it does what it says
Cons:if you can get it in your dog
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

mixed results

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my smaller dog (let's call him a maltepoo) has thrown up each of the first two times we have given it to him. he is 15 lbs and we have given him the pill for 10 lbs to 20lbs. expensive trial gone wrong.
my larger dog (let's call him a husky shepherd) acted a bit sluggish after the first (and only) time we have given it to him but he did not get sick. he is 55 lbs and we gave him the pill for 40 lbs to 60 lbs.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and effective for dual protection

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMemphis, TN, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trifexis is a once a month chewable tablet that protects your pet against heartworm and fleas. It's so easy to administer and the dog much prefers a treat than having to endure the application of topical flea prevention!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTorrance, CA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Australian Cattle Dog
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I used to use Sentinel (until it was recalled) and was always happy with everything it did, EXCEPT the fact that it didn't kill fleas (it only sterilized them.) So even though this was a pretty expensive change, its well worth it to only have to give my dogs ONE pill to cover all bases.
My only issues are 1. The pills are BIG. I usually have to cut them in half because my 65lb dogs can't/won't swallow them whole. 2. They're not offered in a 12 month supply, so I have to purchase a pack every 3 months because I have 2 dogs.
Pros:covers all pests
Cons:pills are the size of a nickel and 1/8" thick
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great response from product but...

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTpa, Fl
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, small
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My concern is my dog is not quite at 22lbs and will be dropping 2-4 lbs. Currently dosage for her goes up to 40lbs. I'm not comfortable giving her meds for almost twice her weight and vet won't drop dosage to 20lbs dosage. For that reason ONLY I've stopped Trifexis.
Cons:no flexibility for borderline weight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dogs Hate These

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSacramento CA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My dogs hate these! I have a 100lb dog who has to take a very large pill & it is very hard getting it down her. My smaller dog doesn't like them either, but I can wrap pill in a piece of meat and get it down her, since her pill is small. My friends with dogs have the same problem. They need to do something to make these more palatable to dogs.
I assume the are effective since I see no sign of fleas and hope never have a heart worm problem.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bybonnism
 
Please wait while more information about bonnism is loaded.
Additional information about bonnism could not be loaded.
onNovember 19, 2013
I agree!! I have 2 Great Danes and it is VERY difficult to get them to take these pills. Sometimes I have success putting them in a pill pocket and hiding it in their food but even then they eat the pill pocket and spit the pill on the ground. Lately we have had to stick it down their throat which is just awful!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
One stop shopping for dogs & their owners. One pill for multiple uses than giving dogs three different pills.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All in one heart guard and pest control medicine

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBoca Raton,Fl
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, large
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great product for the one and done folks. Pill itself is a little large and must be broken up (and mixed with treats) for our pet to take.
Pros:all in one treatment
Cons:size of pill
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Shih Tzu
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will definitely continue to use Trifexis for my two dogs. I have been using it for a couple of years now and I have had zero problems with fleas and/or ticks. Usually, I smash the pill up inside a plastic bag with a rolling pin and then empty the pill into some wet dog food. My dogs eat it up like they normally would eat a treat like that. My dogs are very healthy and happy! It is a little pricey, but I think it is worth it!! It definitely beats having to worry about fleas on your dog, on you, and all over your house!
Pros:effective, easy to use, calendar reminders
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>