Customer reviews for Trifexis

Trifexis

Dogs are under constant threat of invasion by fleas, worms, and other parasitic creatures. Help protect your pooch with Trifexis. Protecting against heartworm, hookworm, roundworm, whipworm, and fleas, Trifexis comes as a beef-flavored tablet, so your dog wont even know that theyre taking medicine! Killing fleas within 30 minutes after being taken, Trifexis leaves fleas no time to lay eggs, nipping that situation in the bud. Trifexis offers a full 30 days of its wide spectrum protection. An effective and affordable alternative to Trifexis is Sentinel
Overall rating:
4.282 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
57 out of 64(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Trifexis
Review 1 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the product

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My dog does not like the taste, I have to put it down his throat but he is good about it.
The only thing I don't like about it is it does not work on fleas so I still need the prevent tick collar
Pros:no muss no fuss
Cons:does not cover fleas
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColumbia, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Carolina Dog
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been using this on my Fur Babies for 3 years and would not us anything else!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product, but expensive for me

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Miniature Schnauzer
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have noticed that after giving to my kids a couple of months, they were no longer scratching from fleas and neither was I! And while I do recommend this product, it is still rather expensive for someone on a fixed income and when you have 3 little dogs to keep well, it's not an easy task. It is a good product though.
Pros:no fleas, keeps my pups well, less vet bills
Cons:very expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is amazing!

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans, LA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Weimaraner
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband I tried several different flea medications, we washed the dog's bedding weekly as well as bathing them weekly. Nothing was helping. We started them on Trifexis and noticed almost a 100% difference withing the first month. After month 2, the fleas were completely gone and my dogs were relieved. Great product and worth every penny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expensive, ineffective for us, worthless guarantee

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAL
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have been giving our 11 month old mix Trifexis at the recommendation of our vet since we have had him (6 months). The treatment is certainly not the cheapest, so we expected it to work. Two weeks after his latest dose, he was seeming lethargic and we needed a new box of Trifexis, so we decided to take him in for the regular check-up he was slightly overdue for. At the check-up, his fecal came back positive for hookworms; thinking that surely Elanco's satisfaction guarantee would cover treatment, we gave him a prescription of Drontal ($$). Now, after both myself and my vet have talked to the Elanco rep, we have been told that Elanco will not honor any guarantee since the infection was discovered as part of a regular check-up. I understand that the worm has a short cycle and it is possible that he could test positive that soon after a dose, but based on his possible exposure I find it unlikely (clean yard) and the reaction of Elanco has left me extremely displeased. We will not continue treating with Trifexis and cannot recommend the treatment to others.
Pros:easy to administer
Cons:expecsive, ineffective, guarantee worthless
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best price I could find on this product, local or online. I have been a Advantage user for years, but fleas have become resistant to the medication. Trifexis did the trip and includes heartworm medication.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Effective Product

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We have tried topical items for our 40 lb dog, but none worked great. We love trifexis because it keeps him free of fleas and ticks and includes his heartworm meds too. It is pricier than some other flea and tick meds, but a pretty good value when you factor in not having to buy separate heartworm prevention meds. Only complaint would be trying to get my dog to take it. It is a pretty big chewable pill and he will pick it out of his food and pill pockets and spit it out. I have to smash it up good in something tasty to get him to take it.
Pros:very effective, great tag at it also includes heartworm prevention
Cons:difficult to make my dog take
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great.

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTampa, FL
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Boxer
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's nice to have a 3-in-1, so only one rx needed. Works much better against fleas than any topical we tried. My dog has been itch free since we started using Trifexis. Only problem is she doesn't like the taste, we have to crush it and mix with something she likes.
Pros:3 uses in 1 tablet, works great
Cons:dog does not like the taste, expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely satisfied with the product

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWesterville, OH, USA
Age:35 to 44
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Mixed Breed, medium
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dog hasn't had any side-effects to this medicine or any of the infestations it attempts to prevent. Based off my observations and annual stools sampled by the vet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trifexis

PostedMay 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Shih Tzu
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Our Dog Ted has had two monthly doses. We live in Florida. I have noticed a lot less itching, so I think Its working like It should. We hope It contines to work. Thanks Janice Mc Mullen.......Tavares Florida
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps my dog healthy without the worry.

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromamerican canyon, ca
Age:65 or over
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Cairn Terrier
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a Cairn Terrier. Our Vet recommended this product and although it is a little pricy; it does keep her healthy without my worrying about fleas, tics, heartworm, etc. She takes it willingly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best for flea and internal parasites

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMiami, FL, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:American Bulldog
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product would be perfect if it contained heart worm prevention as well. Oh . . .and if someone else gave the pill to my 85 lbs American Bulldog . . .what a fight!!! The other 3 dogs were easy by comparison; a chow mix, a brown dog???, and a yorkie/maltese mix
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like a product that kills multiple pests

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana, USA
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Lhasa Apso
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Mature
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This pill is definitely NOT something that is palatable. It may be "beef flavored" but even disguised inside a cheese cube my Lhasa Apso can smell the distinctive unpleasant aroma of this medicine, and I have to pry his jaws open to get the cheese cube in and hold his jaws shut to make sure he swallows it!
Pros:does seem to work well
Cons:has a very nasty smell!, it is expensive compared to others
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TRY Trifexis

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Coton De Tulear
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Juvenile
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have not yet tried this product you are missing out. This is our second season with this and have seen no fleas, ticks or worms. It may seem expensive but consider the cost of the 3 products it replaces and it is a bargain. No more oily fur and worrying about not petting your dog after applying products like frontline.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple yet very good

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Beagle
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One pill a month to treat everything and cheaper then buying at the vet's office!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vet approved , owner tested - it works for our 4 legged kid

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
frombullhead city
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Golden Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It states chewable - yet my 4 legged kid - golden retriever - yet she dislikes the smell, we the owners can smell and she will not chew. So we put honey on it and she will shallow. It works to our liking and once a month is nice element of the Trifexis for the protection it provides for our pet.
Pros:monthly dosage
Cons:smell, not really chewable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromClemson, SC, USA
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Labrador Retriever
Pet Gender:Female
Life stage:Senior
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We never had a problem with fleas until we moved south. When our dog got some fleas our vet recommended this product and within one dose we noticed a difference. It is not effective on ticks, so when we are in an area where ticks are an issue we add a tick preventative product.
This is an effective, easy to use product and no side effects for our dog.
Pros:easy to use
Cons:not effective on ticks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Pill!!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEugene, OR, USA
Age:25 to 34
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Akita
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is so much easier to have one pill take care of everything! Fleas, worms, ticks and heartworms...yes!
Pros:1 dose - 3 meds
Cons:large pill
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome to have it all in one pill.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSaint Petersburg, FL
Age:45 to 54
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:American Staffordshire Terrier
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So nice to just give my dogs one pill for the month and have it cover everything.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Trifexis
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

all in all, it does what it's suppose to.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromhome, Belmont, NC
Age:55 to 64
Pet Type:Dog
Pet Breed:Pembroke Welsh Corgi
Pet Gender:Male
Life stage:Young adult
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a hard time getting my dog to take it. I have even coated it in peanut butter. He licks it off and then spits it out. It really smells bad so I don't blame him.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bytruescorpio1118
 
Please wait while more information about truescorpio1118 is loaded.
Additional information about truescorpio1118 could not be loaded.
onApril 30, 2014
I have to make egg salad, shop the pills up and feed with the egg salad. It's the only way I can get my 2 pekes to take it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>